Congressman Van Taylor Announces 2021-2022 Congressional Youth Advisory Council

Forty-four High School Students Selected from Across Collin County

f t # e
PLANO, September 28, 2021 | Libby Schroeder (202-384-3016) | comments

Today, United States Congressman Van Taylor (TX-03) announced the selected participants for his 2021 - 2022 Congressional Youth Advisory Council program which assembled for their first meeting of the school year this past Saturday.

Each year, the Congressional Youth Advisory Council (CYAC) offers students a unique opportunity to learn about the federal government, discuss public policy and local Collin County issues, and interact with their federal representative and congressional staff while serving their community.

Following the inaugural meeting of the 2021 - 2022 CYAC class, Congressman Taylor stated, “Here in Collin County we pride ourselves on having some of the best and brightest high schoolers in the nation. I’m proud to announce this year’s Congressional Youth Advisory Council as these world changers are eager to learn more about the functions of our government and the importance of civic engagement."

Forty-four Collin County high school students were accepted into Congressman Taylor's 2021- 2022 CYAC class following evaluation by an independent selection board comprised of educators and community leaders who assessed applicant's leadership skills, academic performance, extra-curricular participation, and community service. The names of CYAC students are listed below:

Esther Abiog; Allen High School

Zain Blair-Roberts; McKinney High School

Dhanish Parimalakumar; Allen High School

John Corcoran; McKinney High School

Luke Yeary; Allen High School

Victoria Hinnant; McKinney High School

Kennedy Eagleton; Booker T. Washington

NikolasParker; McKinney High School

Rudransh Arora; Centennial High School

Brooke Dillashaw; Melissa High School

Pranavi Reddi; Centennial High School

Chau Hua; Melissa High School

Peyton Hebert; Frisco High School

Sharon Odhiambo; Melissa High School

Forest Haviland; Heritage High School

Neha Chand; Memorial High School

Shree Kodavatiganti; Heritage High School

Nayana Rajesh; Plano East Senior High School

Kaitlyn Compton; Home School

Jimmy O'Brien; Plano Senior High School

Ainsley Burkes; Imagine International Academy of N. Texas

    Colin Wanek; Plano Senior High School

Jordyn Morgan; iUniversity Prep

Grant Barta; Plano West High School

Grace Zou; Jasper High School

Mansi Lohtia; Plano West High School

Valerie Dao; John Paul II

Fardis Mohiuddin; Plano West High School

Michael Tallman; John Paul II

Gikonyo Njendu; Plano West High School

Kendall Gee; Lebanon Trail High School

Danielle Wang; Plano West High School

Ishaan Joshi; Lebanon Trail High School

Tyler Primeaux; Shelton School

Arshia Narula; Liberty High School

Shayan Parikh; Shepton High School

Humza Ahmad; Lovejoy High School

Lawrence Gardner; St. Marks School of Texas

Keeten Levin; Lovejoy High School

Veronica Fang; The Hockaday School

Max Confer; Lucas Christian Academy

Cassie Liu; The Hockaday School

Faith Adler; McKinney High School

Jedaiah Ward; Wholeness Classical Academy

f t # e