Congressman Van Taylor Announces 2020 Congressional Youth Advisory Council

Hosts Inaugural 2020 Council Meeting

f t # e
Plano, September 28, 2020 | Anna R. McCormack ((202) 570-0927) | comments
Congressman Van Taylor announced participants in his 2020 - 2021 Congressional Youth Advisory Council program which met virtually for the first time this past Saturday.
share: f t

PLANO - Today, United States Congressman Van Taylor (TX-03) announced the selected participants for his 2020 - 2021 Congressional Youth Advisory Council program which met virtually for the first time this past Saturday.

Each year, the Congressional Youth Advisory Council (CYAC) offers students a unique opportunity to learn about the federal government, discuss public policy and local Collin County issues, and interact with their federal representative and congressional staff while serving their community.

Following the inaugural meeting of the 2020 - 2021 CYAC class, Congressman Taylor stated, "I continue to be impressed by the outstanding students and future leaders I meet through my Congressional Youth Advisory Council. It’s no secret Collin County is home to some of the brightest and most involved students in the nation who seek to energize, advocate, and lead their generation by making a difference." He continued, "I could not be more excited to introduce my second CYAC class, and I look forward to watching these civic-minded students, who are eager for knowledge, grow in their understanding of how government functions."

Forty-five Collin County high school students were accepted into Congressman Taylor's 2020 - 2021 CYAC class. Applicants were evaluated by an independent selection board comprised of educators and community leaders who assessed applicant's leadership skills, academic performance, extra-curricular participation, and community service. The names of CYAC students are listed below:
  • Mysha Khan; Allen High School
  • Avery Van Scoy; Allen High School
  • Tarik Salih; Dallas International School
  • Krutin Devesh; Greehill School
  • Micah Sanchez; Homeschool
  • Sahithi Alla; Imagine International Academy
  • Ethan Ong; Imagine International Academy
  • Rhea Sood; Imagine International Academy
  • Kevin Sun; Jasper High School
  • Harrison Karicher; Jesuit College Preparatory School
  • Connor McSorley; Jesuit College Preparatory School
  • Jacob Reed; Jesuit College Preparatory School
  • Jai Gupta; Lebanon Trail High School
  • Srinjoyi Lahiri; Lebanon Trail High School
  • Param Naik; Lebanon Trail High School
  • Karis Fulks; Legacy Christian Academy
  • Ian Bensley; Lovejoy High School
  • David David; Lovejoy High School
  • Ariel Feldman; Lovejoy High School
  • Madilyn Eckenrode; McKinney Boyd High School
  • Pranavraj Prithviraju; McKinney Boyd High School
  • Ariana Palomo; McKinney High School
  • Sean Reyes; McKinney High School
  • Ella Streber; McKinney High School
  • Kylie White; McKinney High School
  • Kody Blackwood; McKinney North High School
  • Kaylie Mowell; McKinney North High School
  • Ryan Oltmann; McMillen High School
  • Bishop Curry; Melissa High School
  • Stephanie Gallagher; Memorial High School
  • Asher Raza; Memorial High School
  • Hannah Abraham; Plano East Senior High School
  • Campbell Morrow; Plano East High School
  • Sophia Rahim; Plano East High School
  • Pranav Varanasi; Plano East High School
  • Carlos Betancourt; Plano Senior High School
  • Isabelle Ma; Plano Senior High School
  • Christian Pressler; Plano Senior High School
  • Rithvik Ganesh; Plano West High School
  • Tanya Magesh; Plano West High School
  • Luke Montgomery; Prestonwood Christian Academy
  • Alexandra Vincent; Rock Hill High School
  • Devon Jackson: Shepton High School
  • Philip Kang; Texas Connections Academy,
  • William Davidson; Wylie Preparatory Academy

A 7th generation Texan, Congressman Van Taylor is a dedicated family man, successful businessman, and decorated Marine Officer. Taylor served Collin County both in the Texas House of Representatives and Texas Senate. Today, Taylor is proud to serve on the House Committee on Financial Services.

f t # e
Tags: Education