Home / Newsroom / Page

Van Taylor Announces Congressional Youth Advisory Council

Initiative Aims to Encourage Student Engagement in Government

f t # e
PLANO, July 15, 2019 | Anna R. Vetter ((202) 570-0927) | comments
Congressman Van Taylor announces the launch of his 2019 Congressional Youth Advisory Council.
share: f t
Today, U.S. Congressman Van Taylor (TX-03) announced the launch of his 2019 Congressional Youth Advisory Council.

Each year, the Congressional Youth Advisory Council offers students a unique opportunity to learn about the federal government, discuss public policy and local Collin County issues, and interact with their federal representative and congressional staff while serving their community.

Congressman Van Taylor stated, "During my visits to local schools and while working throughout Collin County, I am constantly inspired by students seeking to make a difference in our community. I am excited to announce my first Congressional Youth Advisory Council to help cultivate this energy and provide inspiring high school students a laboratory, a classroom, and a platform to discover today, how they will lead tomorrow.”

The Congressional Youth Advisory Council is open to all high school students who reside in Texas' Third Congressional District. Applicants are invited to submit the application, letters of recommendation, and a personal statement.

To participate, students must submit their application and supporting materials by September 5, 2019. For more information about the Congressional Youth Advisory Council, or to apply, please visit Congressman Taylor's website.

For additional questions, please contact Cole Moore in Congressman Taylor's Collin County office by phone at (972) 202- 4150 or by email.

A 7th generation Texan, Congressman Van Taylor is a dedicated family man, successful businessman, and decorated Marine Officer. Taylor served Collin County both in the Texas House of Representatives and Texas Senate. Today, Taylor is proud to serve on the House Committee on Education and Labor as well as the House Committee on Homeland Security.

f t # e

Stay Connected